State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

2008 Annual Meeting Download Printed Program pdf icon
[1.2 MB, 20 pgs.]

2008 Annual Meeting
Turning Knowledge into Action

Scottsdale, Ariz., September 7 - 10

General Info | Agenda | Presentations | Photos | Exhibit | Sponsors/Partners

General Sessions

Below you will find information about the keynote speakers scheduled to address the GHSA's 2008 Annual Meeting attendees.

Wednesday's agenda also includes a general session on the next highway reauthorization.

Monday, September 8

Victor Mendez, Director, Arizona Department of Transportation

Victor Mendez
Director, Arizona Department of Transportation, Phoenix, Ariz.

Victor Mendez was appointed Director of the Department on October 23, 2001. Prior to his appointment as Director, he served as Deputy Director of ADOT and Deputy State Engineer for the Department’s Valley Transportation Group where, under his leadership, a plan was developed and implemented to accelerate the Regional Freeway System in Maricopa County by seven years. Mendez has been with the ADOT since 1985 and is past president of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials and the Western Association of State Highway Transportation Officials. A registered professional Civil Engineer, Mendez holds a M.B.A. degree from Arizona State University and a Bachelor of Science (Civil Engineering) degree from the University of Texas at El Paso.

Jack G. Lane, Chief, Highway Patrol Division, Arizona Department of Public Safety

Jack G. Lane
Chief, Highway Patrol Division, Arizona Department of Public Safety, Phoenix, Ariz.

Jack Lane's career with the Arizona Department of Public Safety began in 1978 as a cadet officer. He held a variety of positions, rising through the ranks to his current role of Chief of the Highway Patrol Division. Lane, a graduate of Arizona State University's Executive Leadership Development and Advanced Public Executive Program, has served on the Department's Civil Emergency Task Force Committee, the Super Bowl XXX Security Committee, the Millennium Tactical Advisory Committee, the Crime Prevention League of Pima County and the U.S. Attorney's Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force Committee. He attended the FBI National Academy in 1994 and has received four Director's Unit Citations.

Jim Ports, Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Jim Ports
Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Washington, D.C.

Jim Ports has served as Deputy Administrator at NHTSA since March, 2007. Prior to his time at NHTSA, Ports served as the Deputy Secretary for Maryland’s Department of Transportation (MDOT). Before joining MDOT, he served for 12 years in the Maryland General Assembly as a member of the House of Delegates. While serving in the House, Ports also worked for the Baltimore Gas and Electric Company, where he held various positions during his 21-year career with the company. A native of Baltimore, Ports is a former Sergeant in the Marine Corps and also a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. He lives in Maryland with his wife and three children.

Tuesday, September 9

Adrian Lund, President, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

Adrian Lund
President, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Arlington, Va.

Adrian Lund is president of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and the Highway Loss Data Institute. A highway safety expert consulted frequently by print and electronic media reporters, Dr. Lund appears regularly on TV news magazine shows and on network news programs. Trained initially as a psychologist, Dr. Lund has been involved in health-related research since 1975. He joined IIHS in 1981 as a behavioral scientist, becoming senior vice president for research in 1993, chief operating officer for IIHS and HLDI in 2001, and president in 2006. He has authored many scientific papers and has served on the boards and committees of several highway safety groups.

Susan Ferguson, President, Ferguson International LLC

Susan Ferguson
President, Ferguson International LLC, McLean, Va.

Susan A. Ferguson, Ph.D. is President of Ferguson International LLC, a highway safety research and aerospace consulting company. She has directed research in a wide range of highway safety areas and published more than 100 scientific papers. Serving on many committees and boards, Dr. Ferguson is currently program manager for a multi-year research program for the development of advanced alcohol detection technology, funded by the NHTSA and the Automotive Coalition for Traffic Safety. This research project's goal is to develop in-vehicle technology that may prevent impaired driving. Learn more about Dr. Ferguson's work on this project at Dr. Ferguson received a B.A. in psychology in 1980 and a Ph.D. in experimental psychology from the George Washington University in 1991.

Robyn Robertson, President and CEO, Traffic Injury Research Foundation

Robyn Robertson
President and CEO, Traffic Injury Research Foundation, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Robyn Robertson is President and CEO of the Traffic Injury Research Foundation (TIRF), a charitable, independent road safety institute. She joined TIRF in 1999 as a Research Assistant and was soon promoted to Research Associate and later, to Vice President, Operations. Before joining TIRF, Robertson worked for the Solicitor General of Canada and Members of Parliament in the areas of correctional policy and legislation. She is co-principal investigator of a comprehensive, multi-year study on DWI System Improvements to improve the effectiveness of the justice system for dealing with hard core drinking drivers. Robertson received her Masters Degree in Criminology and undergraduate degrees from the University of Ottawa.

Wednesday, September 10

"The Next Reauthorization"

At the Annual Meeting last year, the recommendations of the National Surface Transportation and Revenue Policy Study Commission were featured. This year, GHSA will focus on the reauthorization recommendations of some of our key safety partners.

Closing Luncheon

Pete Rahn, President, AASHTO and Director, Missouri Department of Transportation

Pete Rahn
President, AASHTO
Director, Missouri Department of Transportation, Jefferson City, Mo.

Pete Rahn has been Director of the Missouri Department of Transportation since September 2004. At the national level, he is President of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials and Chairman of its Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety. Rahn also serves on the executive committee of the Transportation Research Board and its Task Force on Accelerating Innovation in the Highway Industry. From 1995-2002, Rahn was the Cabinet Secretary for New Mexico's Department of Transportation. He graduated from New Mexico State University with a Bachelor of Arts in government and a bachelor of science in planning. Rahn was raised in New Mexico. He and his wife, Sue, have two children. His free time is spent enjoying family and outdoor activities.