State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

2008 Annual Meeting Download Printed Program pdf icon
[1.2 MB, 20 pgs.]

2008 Annual Meeting
Turning Knowledge into Action

Scottsdale, Ariz., September 7 - 10

General Info | Agenda | Presentations | Exhibit | Sponsors/Partners


For many more photos of the GHSA 2008 Annual Meeting, visit:

Special thanks to Jim Jertson, Publications Editor for the Arizona Department of Public Safety, for all his help taking photos throughout the meeting.

Opening Reception at Taliesin West
Opening Reception
The Opening Reception at Frank Lloyd Wright's former home, Taliesin West, provided a casual atmosphere for meeting attendees to network.
Opening Reception
Guests were also able to explore the grounds and even peek into the private living quarters.
Opening Reception
The desert vistas were spectacular.
Opening Reception
Russ Rader of IIHS and Susanne Hill of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.

Opening General Session
Opening General Session
A view of the ballroom.
Victor Mendez
Victor Mendez, Director, Arizona Department of Transportation, welcomes GHSA to Arizona.
Chris Murphy
Outgoing GHSA Chairman Chris Murphy.
Jack Lane
Jack Lane, Chief, Highway Patrol Division, Arizona Department of Public Safety.
Jim Ports
NHTSA Deputy Administrator James Ports delivers the keynote address.
NHTSA Award to Chairman Chris Murphy
GHSA Chairman Chris Murphy received an award from NHTSA for his leadership in furthering federal/state collaboration to improve highway safety. Left to right: NHTSA Senior Associate Administrator Brian McLaughlin, Chris Murphy, Jim Ports.

Exhibit Hall
Exhibit Hall
The Exhibit Hall, where most lunches and breaks were held, was a popular place to network.
Exhibit Hall
LeeAnn Dixon chats with meeting attendees about the Federal Railroad Administration's safety programs.
Exhibit Hall
Exhibit Hall.
Exhibit Hall
The NHTSA booth is always popular.
Communications Session
Dan Costello of the Phoenix Suns, and Michael Hegarty, Deputy Director of the Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety present on non-traditional communications strategies.
Richard Compton
Richard Compton Director of NHTSA's Office of Behavioral Safety Research shares the latest knowledge about impaired driving countermeasures.
Leanna Depue moderates a workshop on SHSP implementation.
Jim Hedlund
Jim Hedlund discusses national guidelines on state information systems.

Tuesday General Session
Vern Betkey
Newly elected GHSA Chairman Vernon Betkey introduces the speakers.
Adrian Lund
Adrian Lund, President, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, discusses a new IIHS report that suggests raising the driving age would reduce the number of teens dying in car crashes. This topic received a lot of press throughout the meeting.
Robyn Robertson
Robyn Robertson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Traffic Injury Research Foundation.
Susan Ferguson
Susan Ferguson, Principal, Ferguson International LLC.
Awards Luncheon
Troy Costales
Oregon's Troy Costales was master of ceremonies for the 2008 GHSA Awards Luncheon.
Jim Champagne of Louisiana received the James J. Howard Highway Safety Trailblazer Award. Left to right: Troy Costales, Chris Murphy (accepting on behalf of Jim Champagne), special guest Kate Voegele.
Champagne received a standing ovation.
Champagne received a standing ovation.
Joe Farrow
Left to right: Troy Costales, Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Award California Highway Patrol Commissioner Joseph A. Farrow, Kate Voegele, and Chris Murphy.
Safe Kids
Safe Kids Buckle Up won a Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Award. Left to right: Troy Costales, Safe Kids Worldwide President Mitchell Stoller, Kate Voegele.
Pennsylvania DOT
Gary Modi, accepting the Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Award on behalf of the Pennsylvania Occupant Protection Program.
West Virginia LifeSavers
West Virginia Lifesavers Program Peter K. O'Rourke Award winners Bobby Tipton and Roland Jones, and NHTSA Region 3 Administrator Elizabeth Baker.
Utah Program
Left to right: Troy Costales, E.A.S.Y. Program Coordinator Art Brown, Kate Voegele, and Utah Highway Safety Deputy Director Mark Panos. Utah's E.A.S.Y. – won a Peter K. O'Rourke Award.
Winner of the first ever Kathryn J.R. Swanson Award, Phil Haseltine.
Left to right: Troy Costales, Phil Haseltine, Kate Voegele, and Earl Rook, husband of Kathryn J.R. Swanson.
State Night Dinner
Country Western Trio
A country western trio entertains guests prior to the State Night Dinner.
State Night
NHTSA Regional Administrators Phil Weiser and David Manning joke with Deputy Administrator Jim Ports.
Kate Voegele
Kate Voegele gives an impromptu concert.
Richard Fimbres
Richard Fimbres announces the 2008 Treasure Hunt winners.
Pam Fischer
GHSA Board Member Pam Fischer is interviewed by local ABC affiliate Channel 15, KNXV-TV.
Left to right: Adrian Lund of IIHS, Chuck Hurley of MADD, Janet Dewey-Kollen and Elizabeth Bency of Bency & Associates, Phil Haseltine, and Ginnie Hurley.
Bob Dallas & Pete Bodyk
Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety Director Bob Dallas introduces AASHTO Chairman and Missouri DOT Director Pete Rahn, who gave the closing address to meeting attendees.
Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel
The Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel, site of the 2008 GHSA Annual Meeting.