State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

2014 GHSA Highway Safety Awards.

Awards will be presented at GHSA’s 2014 Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids, Michigan, Sept. 6-10.

Tips for Submitting Your Nominations

There is no limit to the number of nominations you may submit.

The James J. Howard Highway Safety Trailblazer Award

GHSA’s highest award honors an individual for sustained outstanding leadership in endeavors that significantly improve highway safety.

The recipient of this award must have undertaken a concerted, long-term effort to make our nation’s highways safer and must have made a significant contribution to the field of highway safety. The recipient must have established and implemented programs or have been responsible for notable advancements in technology or research throughout the years that have yielded a demonstrated national safety impact.

The Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Award

These awards recognize notable achievements in the field of highway safety by individuals, coalitions, organizations, nonprofit groups, businesses, media, government agencies, universities or programs. Up to five awards are given each year.

Nominated achievements must have been successfully accomplished during the 2013 calendar year. Submissions may include notable highway safety improvement programs, plans or legislation in areas including – but not limited to – occupant protection, impaired driving, speed/aggressive driving, driver distraction, enforcement, traffic records, emergency medical services and bicycle, motorcycle and pedestrian safety.

The Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award

This award honors an individual who has made notable improvements in the management or implementation of a highway safety program or policy, or provided outstanding service to GHSA, federal safety agencies or other national highway safety organizations.