State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

The Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award Winners

Cars driving off into the horizonThe Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award honors an individual who has made notable improvements in the management or implementation of a highway safety program or policy, or provided outstanding service to GHSA, federal safety agencies, or other national highway safety organizations.

About Kathryn J.R. Swanson


Betty J. Mercer

Betty J. Mercer—Throughout her career, Betty Mercer has made significant contributions to improving highway safety in both her home state of Michigan and nationwide. She is an expert on highway safety office administration, a mentor to both GHSA members and staff, and an invaluable resource to GHSA and to state highway safety offices across the country. Learn More


Barbara Harsha

Barbara Harsha—Former GHSA Executive Director Harsha led the headquarters office for 25 years, from 1988 until her retirement in 2013. During that time, she worked tirelessly to support state highway safety directors and their staffs to ensure that states had the tools, resources and data needed to develop their lifesaving programs and transitioned GHSA into an organization that focused on improving the skills and building the capacity of its membership. Learn More


Commissioner Joseph Farrow

Commissioner Joseph Farrow—Throughout Commissioner Joseph A. Farrow’s 35-year career with the California Highway Patrol (CHP), he has dedicated his life to the improvement of highway safety. Learn More


Terry Pence

Terry Pence—Trust, integrity, excellence, and service are just a few of the words used to describe Terry Pence, Traffic Safety Section Director for the Texas Department of Transportation’s (TxDOT) Traffic Operations Division. His dedication to saving lives and preventing injuries on the roadways across Texas and nationwide spans more than thirty years. Learn More


Norma Broussard

Norma Broussard—Serving as Chief of Parish Courts for the Jefferson Parish District Attorney’s Office in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana, Norma Broussard has been a critical ally to the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission (LHSC) and highway safety advocates across the state. Learn More


Marlene Klein Markison

Marlene Klein Markison—The 2011 Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award is presented to Marlene Klein Markison for her commitment to advancing effective highway safety programs across the country.

During her remarkable 40-year career, Markison worked hard to make things better. Her steady and calm presence assured a successful transition to more performance-based programs, including triennial management reviews, voluntary implementation of standardized highway safety plan performance measures, and an enduring partnership designed to improve the management and efficiencies in state highway safety offices nationwide. Learn More


Tricia Roberts

Tricia Roberts—The 2010 Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award is presented to Tricia "Trish" Roberts.

A longtime employee at the Delaware Office of Highway Safety, Roberts repeatedly proved herself a valuable member of the team. Her creative ways to reach the public paired with her determination to see effective legislation enacted and her dedication to connecting with other highway safety organizations are just a few of the reasons Roberts deserves this recognition. Learn More


Kevin Quinlan

Kevin E. Quinlan—The 2009 Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award is presented posthumously to Kevin E. Quinlan.

Mr. Quinlan died suddenly in 2008 after 35 years of service with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB). Throughout his career, Mr. Quinlan worked tirelessly to improve highway safety and reduce the number of lives lost in preventable crashes. Learn More


Philip W. Haseltine

Philip W. Haseltine—The inaugural Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award is presented to Phil Haseltine for his lifetime of service to highway safety.

Swanson was a dedicated public servant whose strong commitment to highway safety guided her throughout her career. Haseltine embodies what Swanson most passionately stood for: occupant protection, sensible solutions to saving lives and strengthening safety organizations to achieve ambitious goals. Learn More