State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

Directions in Highway Safety, Fall 2007 Cover Page Download Newsletter pdf
[674 KB, 12 pgs.]

Fall 2007 | Vol. 10 | No. 3

AASHTO Elects Missouri DOT Director Pete Rahn as President

<< Back to Table of Contents

AASHTO President Pete Rahn AASHTO President
Pete Rahn

On October 1, during its Annual Meeting in Milwaukee, the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Board of Directors elected Pete Rahn to serve as President. Rahn is the Director of the Missouri Department of Transportation and also serves as Missouri's Governor's Representative for highway safety. He is a former New Mexico DOT Director.

In remarks to the Board shortly after his election, Rahn outlined three areas of emphasis for AASHTO during his tenure:

Rahn said he also would like AASHTO to work with the trucking industry to develop a tractor-trailer system less damaging to roads and expand support for the Technical Curriculum Council to share technical best practices.

Learn more online at