State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

Directions in Highway Safety, Spring 2007 Cover Page Download Newsletter pdf
[536 KB, 12 pgs.]

Spring 2007 | Vol. 10 | No. 1

<< Back to Table of Contents

Share Your Best!

Nomination deadlines are fast approaching for both the GHSA Highway Safety Awards and the National Roadway Safety Awards.

Each year, GHSA recognizes various organizations and individuals for achievements in the field of highway safety. The 2007 awards will be presented at GHSA's Annual Meeting in Portland. GHSA presents the following awards:

The James J. Howard Highway Safety Trailblazer Award
GHSA's highest award, honoring an individual for sustained outstanding leadership in endeavors that significantly improve highway safety.

The Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Award
Recognizing notable achievements in the field of highway safety by up to five individuals or organizations each year.

GHSA Awards

Roadway Safety Awards
The biennial National Roadway Safety Awards competition is cosponsored by the Roadway Safety Foundation and the Federal Highway Administration. Public and private sector state, regional and local organization are eligible to apply for recognition of their exemplary roadway safety efforts.

The deadline for the GHSA Awards Nomination is May 31, and applications can be downloaded online. The deadline for the National Roadway Safety Awards is June 1, and applications are available at