[1 MB, 12 pgs.]
Winter 2010 | Vol. 12 | No. 3
Georgia Law Gets Tough on ‘Super Speeders’
Georgia has become the first state to implement a law severely penalizing drivers who are caught speeding at rates well beyond the posted speed limit.
As of January 1, 2010, these ‘super speeders’ will face a $200 state fee if they are convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on any two-lane roads or at 85 mph or more anywhere in the state. These new state fees are in addition to any local fines already imposed by the jurisdiction where the offense occurred.
This new ‘SuperSpeeder Law’ is designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who endanger themselves as well as other motorists on Georgia roads. Georgia averages one speed-related death each day.
Convicted speeders who fail to pay the $200 fee incur an additional $50 fee, and their driving privileges and license will be suspended. All fees collected under the new law are helping to fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system, where approximately sixty-percent of all trauma care patients are crash-related.
Georgia has publicized its new ‘SuperSpeeder Law’ online, on electronic message boards, and through various public service announcements, including one from Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue.
For more information, visit www.safespeedsgeorgia.org.