State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResources & ProgramsAbout UsMembers Only
State Laws & Funding

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

Two men on Segway scooters in a big city

Segway Laws

Segways are two-wheeled, self-balancing electric vehicles designed for a maximum speed of 12.5 mph. They are regulated under the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission as a “consumer product,” rather than under the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Legislation governing Segway use is handled primarily at the state level, often under the broader category of "electric personal assistive mobility devices." Most states have regulations designating where riders can ride Segways (i.e. sidewalks, bicycle paths or low-speed roads) and the minimum age of riders. Several apply pedestrian laws to Segway use. Some localities have enacted their own regulations permitting or restricting Segways in their communities.

NOTE: GHSA does not compile any additional data on Segway laws other than what is presented here. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

State State Law
Alabama Permitted
Alaska Permitted
Arizona Permitted
Arkansas No state law; local regulations may exist.
California Permitted
Colorado Permitted
Connecticut Permitted
Delaware Permitted
D.C. Permitted
Florida Permitted
Georgia Permitted
Hawaii Permitted
Idaho Permitted
Illinois Permitted
Indiana Permitted
Iowa Permitted
Kansas Permitted
Kentucky No state law; local regulations may exist.
Louisiana Permitted
Maine Permitted
Maryland Permitted
Massachusetts No state law; local regulations may exist.
Michigan Permitted
Minnesota Permitted
Mississippi Permitted
Missouri Permitted
Montana Permitted
Nebraska Permitted
Nevada Permitted
New Hampshire Permitted
New Jersey Permitted
New Mexico Permitted
New York Permitted
North Carolina Permitted
North Dakota No state law; local regulations may exist.
Ohio Permitted
Oklahoma Permitted
Oregon Permitted
Pennsylvania Permitted
Rhode Island Permitted
South Carolina Permitted
South Dakota Permitted
Tennessee Permitted
Texas Permitted
Utah Permitted
Vermont Permitted
Virginia Permitted
Washington Permitted
West Virginia Permitted
Wisconsin Permitted
Wyoming No state law; local regulations may exist.
Total States Allow Segways: 45 + D.C.

No Law/Not Allowed: 5

Sources: Segway LLC and State Highway Safety Offices.