Autonomous Vehicles

There are currently 37 states along with the District of Columbia that have enacted legislation or issues executive orders regarding Autonomous Vehicles (AVs).

  • 13 states simply authorize a study, define key terms or state contacts, or authorize funding
  • 8 states authorize testing, while 11 states and the District of Columbia authorize full deployment. Of these, 12 states now allow testing or deployment without a human operator in the vehicle.
  • 5 states regulate truck platooning.

More information on state AV laws as well as recommendations for states considering AV legislation can be found in GHSA's report Preparing for Automated Vehicles: Traffic Safety Issues for States.

Source: NCSL