Transparent
State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResourcesLinksAbout UsMembers Only
State Laws & Funding

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

Close up on yellow road construction light

Work Zone Traffic Laws

Nearly all states have laws that increase the penalties for speeding or committing other traffic violations while in a construction work zone.

Often, the enhanced penalty consists of doubling the applicable fine had the same traffic violation been committed oustide a construction zone. It may also be a fixed dollar amount or a range. Some states vary the penalty depending on whether it is a first or subsequent offense.

In many states, the enhanced penalty is applicable only when workers are present and/or if signs are posted.

NOTE: GHSA does not compile any additional data on work zone traffic laws other than what is presented here. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

State Violations Affected Enhanced Penalties Workers Must Be Present Signs Must Be Present
Alabama Speeding Double original fine Yes Yes
Alaska All Double original fine    
Arizona Speeding Double original fine Yes Yes
Arkansas All moving traffic violations Double original fine Yes Yes
California Various Double original fine Yes Yes
Colorado All Double original fine    
Connecticut All moving traffic violations Double original fine Yes Yes
Delaware Various At least double original fine (1st offense)    
D.C. All moving violations Double original fine Yes Yes
Florida Speeding Double original fine Yes Yes
Georgia Speeding $100-$2,000 and/or up to 12 months in jail Either work zone personnel, or barriers, work vehicles or shoulder or pavement drop offs Yes
Hawaii Speeding $250    
Idaho Speeding $50   Yes
Illinois Speeding $375 (1st offense); $1,000 (subsequent offenses)   Yes
Indiana Speeding $300 (1st offense);
$500 (2nd offense); $1,000 (3rd offense within 3 years)
  Yes
Iowa All moving vehicle violations Double original fine (up to $1,000)   Yes
Kansas All moving vehicle violations Double original fine   Yes
Kentucky Speeding Double original fine    
Louisiana Speeding Double original fine Yes  
Maine Speeding Double original fine   Yes
Maryland Speeding Up to $1,000   Yes
Massachusetts Speeding Double original fine   Yes
Michigan All moving vehicle violations Double original fine and at least 3 points   Yes
Minnesota Speeding Double original fine (minimum $25) Yes Yes
Mississippi Speeding Up to $250 (1st offense),
double original fine (subsequent offenses)
Yes Yes
Missouri Speeding or passing Additional $250 (1st offense);
additional $300 (subsequent offenses)
Yes Yes
Endangerment of a highway worker Up to $10,000 fine and loss of license Yes Yes
Montana All Minimum double original fine Yes Yes
Nebraska Speeding Double original fine Yes Yes
Nevada Various Double original fine (up to $1,000), 6 months jail time, or 120 hrs. community service Yes Yes
New Hampshire Speeding $250-$500 Yes Yes
New Jersey All moving vehicle violations Double original fine   Yes
New Mexico Speeding Double original fine   Yes
New York Speeding $90-$600 or up to 30 days in jail, or both   Yes
North Carolina Speeding Additional $250 plus court costs   Yes
North Dakota Speeding Minimum $80 Yes Yes
Ohio Speeding Double original fine Must be during hours of actual work Yes
Oklahoma Speeding Double original fine Yes Yes
Oregon Various Double original fine (few exceptions)    
Pennsylvania Various Double original fine Yes Yes
Rhode Island Speeding Double original fine   Yes
South Carolina Speeding $75-$200 or up to 30 days jail, or both   Yes
South Dakota Speeding Double original fine (up to $500) or 30 days jail, or both Yes Yes
Tennessee Speeding $250-$500 Yes Yes
Texas All moving vehicle violations Double original fine Yes Yes
Utah Speeding Minimum double original fine Yes Yes
Vermont Speeding Double original fine   Yes
Virgin Islands Speeding No data
Virginia Speeding Up to $500 Yes Yes
Washington Speeding Double original fine    
West Virginia Speeding Up to $200 or 20 days in jail, or both Yes Yes
Wisconsin Various Double original fine Yes  
Wyoming None
Total States   49 + D.C., Virgin Islands 24 + D.C. 41 + D.C.

Sources: National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse and State Highway Safety Offices.