California

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of California. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

California
AV legislation

Authorizes full deployment without a human operator.

California
Bike helmets required?

Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 18.

California
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Universal helmet law enacted 1992.

California
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

5 years

California
Provisions for Mature Drivers

70 and over: no mail renewal

California
Marijuana Possession and Use

Decriminalized and legal for medical and recreational use

California
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

California
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

California
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

California
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

55

California
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

65

California
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

55

California
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

California
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

55

California
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

California
Administrative license suspension on first offense

4 months

California
Limited driving privileges during suspension

After 30 days

California
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for all repeat and injury-involved offenses, first-time injury or vehicular manslaughter offenses.

California
Open container laws

Yes

California
Repeat Offender Laws

No

California
Child Restraint Required

In rear-facing car seat under 2 yrs unless child weighs 40 or more lbs or is 40" or more inches tall

Under 8 yrs and under 57" tall in car seat or booster seat in the back seat

California
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8 yrs or at least 4'9" in booster seat, but at min. safety belt 16 yrs and over

California
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

First 12 months: no passengers under 20 (secondary enforcement) unless accompanied by parent, guardian or other adult 25 years or older

California
Full Privilege Minimum Age

17 years

California
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15 / 6

California
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

California
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (10)

California
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

California
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

11 p.m. - 5 a.m. (secondary enforcement)

California
Type of Law

Primary

California
Who is Covered?

16 and over

California
In What Seat?

All

California
Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

California
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

California
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Secondary law.

California
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

California
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

California
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law

California
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

Statewide

California
Speed Cameras: State Law

None

Ford Fund and Governors Highway Safety Association Award Grants to Help Combat Teen Speeding, Announce Return of Hands-On Training Clinics

Ford Motor Company Fund, the philanthropic arm of Ford, and the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) are extending their 18-year commitment to improving teen driving skills by awarding grants totaling $135,000 to six State Highway Safety Offices (SHSO) and announcing the return of Ford Driving Skills for Life hands-on driver training clinics.

Ford Fund and Governors Highway Safety Association Award Grants to Help Combat Teen Speeding, Announce Return of Hands-On Training Clinics

Ford Motor Company Fund and the Governors Highway Safety Association are extending their 18-year commitment to improving teen driving skills by awarding grants totaling $135,000 to six State Highway Safety Offices and announcing the return of Ford Driving Skills for Life hands-on driver training clinics.

Subscribe to California